a group of people posing for the camera

News & Media

Home » News & Media » Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center OrthoSpine Center nurses recognized for extraordinary service

Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center OrthoSpine Center nurses recognized for extraordinary service

April 10, 2019 – Danville, Kentucky – Nurses at Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center’s OrhtoSpine Center were recently honored with The DAISY Team Award for Extraordinary Nurses. The award is part of the DAISY Foundation’s program to recognize the super-human efforts nurses perform every day. 

The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses has been adopted by healthcare facilities around the world to celebrate nurses for their extraordinary care and compassion.  The DAISY Team Award is for nurse-led teams of two or more who come together to solve a specific situation by going above and beyond.  Nursing teams may be nominated by patients, families, and colleagues, and they are chosen by a committee of nurses at Ephraim McDowell Health to receive The DAISY Team Award. The DAISY Team Award is presented once each year at a surprise presentation.  Each member of the Nursing Team receives a certificate commending them for being an “Extraordinary Nurse.”  The certificate reads: “In deep appreciation of all you do, who you are, and the incredibly meaningful difference your teamwork makes in the lives of so many people.”  The Team also receives a specially engraved plaque with the name of the Team.  

The OrthoSpine Center nurses were nominated by a patient that said, “This team is very impressive.  Every caregiver I came in contact with was caring, competent, compassionate and very professional.  After 40 years of experience myself, I can easily discern how a nursing team is running and how busy they are at any time.  However, despite some very busy times during those three days, I was immediately attended when I needed assistance.  My pain was carefully evaluated and treated.  I experienced no break-through pain or major discomfort.  I was assisted with getting out of the bed and walking as needed.  My husband was included in my plan of care and all procedures were explained to him.  Maybe most importantly I was treated with great respect and with a cheerful yet professional manner.  In addition, it was clear to me that this nursing team expertly coordinates care with physicians, physical therapists, and occupational therapists for the maximum benefit to patients.”

Nomination forms for the DAISY Award are available at various locations throughout Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center, Ephraim McDowell Fort Logan Hospital and Ephraim McDowell James B. Haggin Hospital. 

a group of people posing for a photo

Front row (left to right) are: Rhonda Robinson, Hannah Frank, Pat Walls, Kensley Underwood, Haley Brown, Patrica Taylor-Herrera and Amy Feeback, director of the OrthoSpine Center. Back row (left to right) are:Katie Watson, unit facilitator of the OrthoSpine Center, Kayce Spalding, Debra Ellis, Taylor Baker, Samantha Megilligan, Katie Lynch, Christina Leber, Morgan Clark and Josh Ritzi.  Not pictured is Jena Caudill, Nicole Oder, Jackie Dawson, Jana Chadwell, Linda Davis, Spencer Glacken, Dylan Saylor, Emily Dunaway, Courtney Price, Shawn Johnson, Shelby Shelton, Ashley Thomas and Sara Helm.